Spring Cleaning: Black Raspberry Edition

Spring has sprung and I decided to tackle the tangled mess of black raspberry bushes behind my garage. These have grown out of control and need to be trimmed back to encourage growth and to keep them in their designated area. As you can see from the image below, I can barely spot my cat Fiesta! So I had to do something right meow.

IMG_20150320_162147913

Some people like to tend to their raspberry pruning in the late fall but I’ve inherited my mother’s timing of very early Spring. As long as they haven’t started budding and there is one or two more frosts on the horizon, they will be fine. Trim to 1-2 feet from the base.

IMG_20150320_164908576

Leave a Reply

