January – time to order seeds for 2014

SeedPackages

January is usually the month where people like to flip through the catalogs and pick out their veggies of choice for the upcoming planting season. One of our preferred places to find REAL organic and heirloom seeds is Seed Savers Exchange in the heart of Decorah, Iowa.

This year, I won’t be placing any orders. Instead I’m going to try and finish up all the leftover packets I have lying around from years past (see above image). These are anywhere from 1-3 years old. The germination rate will be lower but I should still see a good turnout. Because I will be starting seeds indoors this year, I will have a better idea what has expired and what still has life. I have kept my opened packets in an envelope in the back of the fridge so that should help. I will keep everyone posted on how these turn out.

What are your seed plans for 2014?

2 responses to “January – time to order seeds for 2014

Leave a Reply

