Homemade Kitchen Compost Bin

I received a great Christmas present this year from my mom: a Stainless Steel Compost Bin to hold food scraps in the kitchen.

Oscar
I keep it next to or under the sink and once it’s full, take it outside to the compost pile. You can still compost in the Winter!!

But before I acquired this gift, I had to make my own compost holder:

MakeshiftCompostContainer

I simply took an empty oatmeal container and lined it with a plastic bag to keep the cardboard from getting wet. After throwing your egg shells and cut-up veggie scraps inside, put the lid on and store under the sink. Once full, dump the contents to your pile outside. I usually throw away the oatmeal container and start a new one each time.

Leave a comment below with your method of indoor composting.

Leave a comment